Bocconi University, in partnership with POLISS, is organising the 6th Geography of Innovation Conference which will take place at Bocconi University in Milan on 4th – 6th July 2022.

The Geography of Innovation Conference provides a forum for discussion to scholars interested in scientific, policy and strategic issues concerning the spatial dimension of innovation activities.

In line with the five previous editions of the conference, held in Saint Etienne (France) in 2012, Utrecht (Netherlands) in 2014, Toulouse (France) in 2016, in Barcelona (Spain) in 2018 and in Stavanger (Norway) in 2020, the main objective of this event is to bring together some of the world’s leading scholars from a variety of disciplines ranging from economic geography and regional science, to economics and management science, sociology and network theory, and political and planning sciences.


Heads of the Local Committee

  • Andrea Morrison (University of Pavia and Bocconi University, Italy)
  • Nicoletta Corrocher (Bocconi University, Italy)
  • Stefano Breschi (Bocconi University, Italy)

Other Committee Members

  • Corinne Autant-Bernard (University of Saint Etienne, France)
  • Jerome Vicente (University of Toulouse, France)
  • Koen Frenken (Utrecht University, The Netherlands)
  • Kristoffer Woldseth Moldekleiv (University of Stavanger, Norway)
  • Luisa Gagliardi (Bocconi University, Italy)
  • Myriam Mariani (Bocconi University, Italy)
  • Roberta Pisani (Bocconi University, Italy)
  • Ron Boschma (Utrecht University, The Netherlands and University of Stavanger, Norway)
  • Rosina Moreno (University of Barcelona, Spain)
  • Rune Dahl Fitjar (University of Stavanger, Norway)


Committee Members

  • Andrés Rodríguez-Pose (London School of Economics, UK)
  • Atilla Varga (Pecs University, Hungary)
  • Bjørn Terje Asheim (University of Stavanger, Norway)
  • Canfei He (Peking University, China)
  • Cesar Hidalgo (ANITI, University of Toulouse)
  • Christian Catalini (MIT Sloan, US)
  • Christian Østergaard (Aalborg University, Denmark)
  • David Charles (Northumbria University, UK)
  • David L. Rigby (UCLA, US)
  • Davide Consoli (INGENIO-CSIC, Spain)
  • Dieter Kogler (University College Dublin, Ireland)
  • Elisa Giuliani (University of Pisa, Italy)
  • Ernest Miguelez (University of Bordeaux, France)
  • Francesco Lissoni (University of Bordeaux, France)
  • Francesco Quatraro (University of Turin, Italy)
  • Gaetan de Rassenfosse (EPFL, Switzerland)
  • Heike Mayer (University of Bern, Switzerland)
  • Ina Drejer (Aalborg University, Denmark)
  • Jose-Luis Hervas-Oliver (Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain)
  • Josep Maria Arauzo Carod (Universitat Rovira i Virgili, Spain)
  • Julie Le Gallo (Agrosup Dijon, France)
  • Keld Laursen (Copenhagen Business School, Denmark)
  • Lars Coenen (Western Norway University of Applied Sciences, Norway)
  • Lorenzo Cassi (Paris-Sorbonne, France)
  • Magnus Klofsten (Linköping University, Sweden)
  • Mark Lorenzen (Copenhagen Business School, Denmark)
  • Maryann Feldman (University of North Carolina, USA)
  • Michael Fritsch (University of Jena, Germany)
  • Michael Storper (UCLA, US)
  • Michaela Trippl (University of Vienna, Austria)
  • Pierre Alex Balland (Utrecht University, The Netherlands and MIT, USA)
  • Rafael Boix (University of Valencia, Spain)
  • Raquel Ortega-Argilés (The University of Manchester, UK)
  • Riccardo Crescenzi (London School of Economics, UK)
  • Roberta Capello (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
  • Roberta Rabellotti (University of Pavia, Italy)
  • Sami Mahroum (INSEAD Abu Dhabi UAE)
  • Silvia Rita Sedita (University of Padova, Italy)
  • Simona Iammarino (London School of Economics, UK)
  • Stefano Usai (University of Cagliari, Italy)
  • Tom Broekel (University of Stavanger, Norway)


Bocconi University

Università Bocconi was established in Milan in 1902, with a generous endowment from Ferdinando Bocconi, a wealthy merchant. Named for his lost son, Università Commerciale Luigi Bocconi thus became the first Italian institution of higher education to grant a degree in economics.

Since its inception, Bocconi has stood for liberalism, pluralism, and social and economic progress. While a private institution, Bocconi has traditionally been more than an elite university. Today, Bocconi is a research university of international standing in business, economics, and law. Its research projects are funded by national and supranational institutions. By virtue of being a major node in the European and global network of business and economics universities, Bocconi exchanges faculty and cooperates on large projects with like-minded European and American universities and business schools.

Università Bocconi has an Undergraduate School, a Graduate School, a School of Law and a PhD School. SDA Bocconi School of Management, founded in 1971, takes care of the post-experience management education.

Funded by a donation from the Invernizzi Foundation, ICRIOS is a research center at Bocconi University created to be a reference point for cutting-edge, multi-disciplinary and collaborative research on innovation, organization, strategy and entrepreneurship, with the explicit objective to influence in a significant way both the academic debate and management practice.


POLISS – Policies for Smart Specialisation

POLISS is an Innovative Training Network funded by the EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation (H2020-MSCA-ITN grant agreement No 860887) bringing together 7 European Universities and 13 Partners with the aim of contributing to the improvement of the EU’s Smart Specialisation Policy.

The POLISS project will be training a new generation of experts in regional development and innovation policy, contributing to a more effective design, implementation and evaluation of RIS3 actions in EU regions.

Within POLISS, 14 PhD research fellows will be trained and work together to achieve the objectives of the POLISS Innovative Training Network. The network will run for a 4-year period, ending in December 2023.


Papers and extended abstracts submission deadline: September 19th, 2021

Acceptance confirmation: November 15th, 2021

Registration opened: March 15th, 2022

Registration closed: May 6th, 2022

Conference opens: July 4th, 2022


  • Bocconi University


  • Intesa Sanpaolo
Photos from GEOINNO2022 are now published and possible to look through here.